Subscribe eNews Send Us Files Login

eNews Subscribe to eNews

The AHF Hall of Fame Foundation Names
Four New Members

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Four industry leaders will be inducted into the American Home Furnishings (AHF) Hall of Fame on October 15 during the High Point Market. Joining the current 108 members of the Hall of Fame are Donald H. Flanders, Sr., founder and chairman of Lloyd Flanders, Inc.; Vladimir Kagan, contemporary furniture designer; Samuel Kuo, cofounder and chairman of Samson Holding Ltd.; and Bernard D. Moray, chairman of Gorman’s Home Furnishings & Interior Design.

“We look forward to honoring these four extraordinary leaders, each of whom has transformed the home furnishings industry in powerful and significant ways,” says Bob Maricich, president of the Hall of Fame Foundation board of directors. “Throughout their careers, each has demonstrated ongoing excellence and innovation in their field and have earned the respect of both colleagues and competitors.”

The two new inductees who have been part of the patio furnishings industry are as follows:

Donald H. Flanders, Sr., (1924-2012) cofounder and former chairman of Lloyd Flanders Industries, transformed outdoor furniture in 1985 when he introduced consumers to weather-resistant furniture that looked like traditional natural wicker. He acquired a Lloyd Loom factory, which weaves natural fiber made of twisted cellulose (paper) reinforced with aluminum stakes, and added a weatherproof coating, thus launching a new category that would become a backbone of the casual outdoor furnishings industry.

Selling his case goods company, Flanders Manufacturing Co., with 350 employees in 1969 to Riverside Furniture Corp., he turned to outdoor when he founded Flanders Industries, later acquiring the assets of the Lloyd division of Heywood Wakefield Co. in 1982. Flanders was a people person who believed it was important to be a leader in the industry, not just to participate in it. He served in leadership roles for the Southwestern Furniture Manufacturers Association and the Summer and Casual Furniture Manufacturers Association, now the International Casual Furnishings Association.

Vladimir Kagan (1927-2016) brought an organic aesthetic to modern furniture design with sensuous curves and sculptural details that ushered in a new look in American upholstery, case goods, occasional pieces and lighting. He started designing furniture in 1946 and by the early ’50s his innovative, curvilinear pieces were considered Modern icons.

Among his quintessential pieces are the Serpentine Sofa (1949), the Barrel Chair (1947) and the Floating Sofa (1952). Kagan’s furniture is in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Victoria & Albert Museum, and the Vitra Design Museum, among many others.

Prolifically creative and ever positive, Kagan briefly retired in 1988, but by 1990, he began licensing his upholstery and case goods designs. In 1998, he reintroduced his classic designs at ICFF and reinvented his career. The Vladimir Kagan Design Group through HOLLY HUNT continues to produce his Classic Collection. (Over the years, Kagan created furniture designs for patio furnishings companies such as Barlow Tyrie.)

More eNews

Glen Raven Custom Fabrics Names Chief Marketing Officer

Friday, August 16, 2019

Glen Raven Custom Fabrics, best known as the makers of Sunbrella fabrics, is excited to announce the hiring of Steve Pawl, a seasoned marketing strategist with more than 20 years of experience building international consumer brands, as its first...

» Continue

Retail Store Numbers Continue to Grow

Friday, August 16, 2019

With the bankruptcy of Barney’s in the news, we’re bound to see another round of handwringing in the media over the “retail apocalypse.” The actual data paints a very different picture, though....

» Continue

IG Charcoal BBQ

Friday, August 16, 2019

The IG Charcoal BBQ is a Santa Maria style stainless-steel grill. It eliminates the need of having an additional table for storing food, utensils, and/or condiments....

» Continue