Subscribe eNews Send Us Files Login

eNews Subscribe to eNews

Casual Industry Salutes 2016 Award Winners

Friday, September 23, 2016

The International Casual Furnishings Association (ICFA) honored top retailers, manufacturers, representatives and designers this week at a gala awards celebration during the Casual Market Chicago.

All segments of the industry gathered at the Chicago Field Museum on Thursday, September 22, to recognize manufacturing and retailing excellence, spotlight top product designs and pay tribute to the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

Awards presented or recognized during the event included the following:

Apollo Awards

The Apollo Awards recognize retail excellence in the sales and marketing of outdoor furnishings. Finalists must demonstrate outstanding accomplishments and commitment to customer service. Winners in two categories – single store and multi-store – were selected from a group of 10 finalists through an online ballot.

Village Green, Rockford, Illinois, was the single-store category winner.

ABSCO Fireplace and Patio, with stores in Birmingham and Pelham, Alabama, was the multi-store category winner.

Finalists in the single store category included Kolo Collection, Atlanta; Outdoor Elegance, LaVerne, California; Patios Plus, Rancho Mirage, California; and Sunnyland Furniture, Dallas.

Finalists in the multi-store category were Daylight Home, Lighting & Patio, San Luis Obispo, California; Elegant Outdoor Living, Bonita Springs, Naples and Fort Myers, Florida; Great Gatherings, Annapolis and Gaithersburg, Maryland, and Gainesville and Fairfax, Virginia, and Outside in Style, Austin and San Antonio, Texas.

Design Excellence Awards

The Design Excellence competition recognizes products in 11 categories for their overall design, as well as their marketability, innovation, color, construction and imaginative use of materials.

Eligible designs must have been introduced in the marketplace within the previous year and must be offered by companies exhibiting at Casual Market Chicago. Merchandise Mart Properties Inc. co-sponsors the awards.

The 2016 category winners included:

Chaise Lounge

Jensen Leisure Coral Chaise

Complementary Casual Products

TUUCI Equinox Cabana

Dining Bar Chair

Lloyd Flanders Wildwood Dining Chair

Dining Bar Table

Gloster Split Raw Dining Table


Outdura Spumoni Crystal


OW Lee Creighton 42-in. Square Fire Pit

Lounge Seating with Cushion

Gloster Grand Weave

Lounge Seating without Cushion

Seaside Casual MAD Fusion Chat Chair

Rugs and Flooring

Trans-Ocean Ravella Akumal Ocean Rug

Outdoor Lighting

Gloster Ambient Cocoon


TUCCI Ocean Master Max Zero Horizon Cantilever

“Lilly” Awards and Lillian B. Winchester “Best of Show”

The Lillian B. Winchester “Best of Show” award, selected from among the 11 category winners listed above, went to Gloster’s Grand Weave. In addition, Gloster’s Grand Weave was selected for the “Lilly” award in the Outdoor Furniture category. TUUCI’s Equinox Cabana received the “Lilly” for Outdoor Accents.

Lillian B. Winchester “Best of Show”
“Lilly” Award – Outdoor Furniture

Gloster Grand Weave

“Lilly” Award – Outdoor Accents

TUUCI Equinox Cabana

Lifetime Achievement

The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the casual furniture industry and to their individual communities. The 2016 honorees were Joseph W. Watson and the late Merv Conn.

Joseph W. Watson

Merv Conn

Like many young men of his generation, Watson sold Fuller Brushes door-to-door as a high schooler. But his penchant for sales continued long after his teenage years, eventually leading to his acquisition of a garden shop in his hometown of Towson, Maryland, in 1955. The garden shop “blossomed” into a $6 million to $7 million garden center in just over a decade.

Along the way, his brothers joined him in business, and they moved the garden center to nearby Lutherville in 1961, where burgeoning residential development led to continued growth and success. In 1986, Watson took the patio and fireplace departments, along with some adjoining real estate, and opened Watson’s Fireplace and Patio.

Watson’s son, Steve, now operates the fireplace and patio store, while the garden center closed earlier this year. Watson was active in the leadership of the Casual Furniture Retailers group prior to its 2007 merger with the Summer and Casual Furniture Manufacturers Association, which later became the ICFA.

Conn joined Mallin Casual Furniture of Montebello, California, in 1963 as the shipping manager and worked his way up to general manager. In 1991, when the company was purchased by Minson Corp., Conn was named vice president of Sales and Marketing. Under his leadership, Mallin Casual Furniture was re-established as an industry leader known for comfort and style.

Conn was active in the industry, joining the manufacturers’ association board in 1997. He was elected an officer in 2002 and served as president from 2004 to 2006 and as chairman from 2006 to 2007. Conn, who died unexpectedly in 2013 following complications from surgery, is fondly remembered by friends and colleagues as an expert negotiator with a keen eye for styles that consumers would buy.

Manufacturer Leadership

Ten leading manufacturers were honored for overall leadership reflecting the design and quality of their products, along with their merchandising, customer service, ethics, communications and trade relations. Winners, selected by ICFA members through online voting, were:

Brown Jordan, Castelle, Gloster Furniture, Jensen Leisure Furniture, Lloyd Flanders, OW Lee, Patio Renaissance, Telescope Casual Furniture, Treasure Garden and Tropitone Furniture. For the fifth year in a row, OW Lee was named “Manufacturer of the Year.”

Manufacturer of the Year

Other Honorees

Sales Representative of the Year

The Sales Representative of the Year award recognizes an outstanding sales representative within the casual furnishing industry. Candidates were selected based on leadership, professionalism, exceptional service, communication skills, knowledge and product training expertise.

The 2016 winner, selected from four finalists and determined through online voting, was Bryan Echols, of Echols Enterprises, Charlotte, North Carolina.

Bryan Echols

After a short stint in the banking industry in 1991, Echols realized a cubicle was not where he wanted to spend his future. Through his father, Bill Echols, he learned of a sales rep opportunity with Samsonite Furniture Company, and he soon realized he had found his career path. He now represents OW Lee, Treasure Garden, Lloyd Flanders and Outdoor by Design.

Finalists for Sales Representative of the Year were Randy Adams, Todd Crandall and Gary Moretti. ICFA members reviewed the nominees and cast their ballots in online voting in early September.

More eNews

Twin Star Home Acquires TK Classics

Monday, January 27, 2020

Twin Star Home, a market leader in award-winning design and manufacturing of home furnishings and in-home electric fireplaces, today announced the acquisition of TK Classics, a leading designer and manufacturer of design-rich outdoor furniture....

» Continue

Millennials Driving Changes in Home Design

Monday, January 27, 2020

All-white kitchens and farmhouse style, two trends that achieved great popularity in the late 2010s, are falling out of favor with homeowners, according to a new survey by private builder Ashton Woods....

» Continue